Posted on

The clotheshorse

Let’s admit it, you have corners of your closet that you haven’t peeked at for years (and I’m not speaking metaphorically).  Everyone is at least a little bit of a clotheshorse.  It’s not the least bit pretty – especially if you end up wearing one of those little gems that’s stained or horribly out-dated.

So let’s start with the easy stuff.  Sort through all of your clothes and anything that’s stained, ripped or otherwise unsuitable for viewing (I’m talking to you “period panties”) needs to be tossed out immediately.  Do not pass Go.  Do not collect $200.  Throw these items directly in the trash because if you haven’t fixed them by now, you’re never going to.  Just let them go.

This part is a little bit harder – donate anything that is out-of-date or inappropriate for your current lifestyle.  Those jeans from high school gotta go.  Same for the sundress you bought for your vacation to the Greek Isles a decade ago.  The clothes from your ‘ska-punk’ period – donate them to a good cause.  I know you’re emotionally attached to them but take a picture and move on with your life.

Gather up what’s left and place them on hangers, turned backward in your closet – when you use it, you can hang it properly.  At the end of a year, anything you haven’t worn (unless it’s for very very special occasions), get rid of.

You’ll probably need a few things for your wardrobe now so happy shopping (just do it within reason).

p.s.  I recommend purchasing a few nice, classic pieces but I’ll be getting into that on a later blog.

7 responses to “The clotheshorse

  1. Liza

    Great suggestion about turning the clothes hangers backwards and using it for the next round of editing. I’ll have to remember that!

  2. Pingback: Casual Friday and then some | Girl, don't be stupid!

  3. Harriet

    I seldom write comments, but i did some searching and wound up here The clotheshorse | Girl,
    don’t be stupid!. And I actually do have 2 questions for you if you tend not to mind. Is it just me or does it appear like some of the comments appear as if they are coming from brain dead individuals? 😛 And, if you are writing at other online social sites, I would like to follow anything new you have to post. Would you make a list of the complete urls of all your public sites like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

    • I think people evolve at different rates and we should help others along as best we can, provided we don’t lose ourselves in the process. 🙂

      This is my only blog and I do not write for other sites at this point. The Girl Don’t Be Stupid Twitter account that is used as an RSS feed. I didn’t create a Facebook page for it nor do I have a Linkedin for this blog.

      I’m glad you enjoy the blog!

  4. Wow that was odd. I just wrote an very long comment
    but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing
    all that over again. Anyway, just wanted to
    say superb blog!

  5. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I really appreciate your efforts and I am waiting for your further post thank
    you once again.

Leave a Reply

